Gradient_web_banner.png

Touches the sublime in sci-fi lyricism... A heroic cosmic odyssey... textured with the stuff of legend, stirring and ultimately melancholy
— Kirkus Reviews

get the first 120 pages FOR free!

Would you leave behind everything you know to start a new world? Would you destroy that world to save everything you believe in?

Gradient. A 'sci-fi thriller that reads like epic fantasy' in the spirit of Ursula K Le Guin, Gene Wolfe, and Frank Herbert. Described by readers as 'innovative,' 'compelling,' and 'wildly creative.' 

Sign up for the readers group The Wonder Dome and get the first 120 pages for free!

Gradient_mockup_V3_compressed.png

Would you leave behind everything you know to start a new world? Would you destroy that world to save everything you believe in?

Born on the moon of Verygone, on the distant edge of the galaxy, Oren Siris is a loner and a dreamer, yearning for a life beyond his humble home. When an interstellar ship arrives, it will take him on a journey across the stars to the shores of an undiscovered planet. Oren and his team strive to build peace with the indigenous peoples of this beautiful new world, but some unseen force works against their every effort, driving them to the very brink of war.

Gradient is an epic space folktale set against the backdrop of a galaxy with advanced human beings who have populated thousands of planets. If you like authors like Ursula K. le Guin and Frank Herbert and films like Star Trek and the Matrix, and if you like compelling characters, rich storytelling, and big ideas about the nature of human existence, then you’ll love this epic debut novel from Anders Cahill.

Quite frankly, one of the best debuts I’ve ever read
— Yudhanjaya Wijeratne, bestselling author of Numbercaste

READER REVIEWS

"Gradient is a gripping, innovative read. For fans of Isaac Asimov, Ursula Le Guin, Philip K. Dick, or Gene Roddenberry – you will not be disappointed." - Stephan M.

An epic, ambitious, wildly creative book." - Max K

"Lovely and compelling." - J.B.

"I'll be thinking about this one for a long time!" - Maureen H.

"A hero’s quest as ancient as Gilgamesh... as if space travelers arrived into the middle of the Illiad, seating themselves next to the likes of Ares and Athena." - Chris S.

"Gradient is a gripping sci-fi thriller that reads like an epic fantasy and it makes for a first-rate intergalactic ride. Oren's journey is equal parts compelling, complex, and relatable. This book was really tough to put down and kept me thinking for days afterward - a phenomenal debut!" - Abree M.

"Gradient is what happens when you launch HP Lovecraft into space. Or slip Orson Scott Card some peyote two or three chapters into the next installment of the Ender's Game saga... the dark foreboding "dream" sequences, in which realities are blurred, are what take this book out of the traditional space epic... If you're wondering "what's next" for a very familiar genre, read this book." - David D.


Short Stories


A Night in Coruscant

A Star Wars Fan Story

Part One


Into Darkness

A Star Wars Fan Story

Part Two


about the author

ACahill_Headshot_Glasses_Circular.png

Anders Cahill

Anders was born in Concord, Massachusetts. He grew up on a steady diet of fantasy and science fiction novels, liberally spiced with comic books and video games. He has a master's degree in education from Harvard University, and he lives in Boston, Massachusetts with his wife and daughter. Gradient is his first full-length work of fiction.

 

Contact, Bookings, and Wholesale

I'm hugely passionate about teaching and learning, and I believe that every single human has the creative spark. I'm available for public speaking, lectures, creativity workshops, and private coaching. You can learn more about my coaching work at The Mindful Creative.

If you'd like to bring me to your community, fill out the form below with some key details, and I'll get back to you as soon as I can.

If you’re a distributor interested in carrying Gradient on your shelves, please contact me so I can arrange for a wholesale discount.

I also love hearing from my readers, so feel free just to drop me a line!

Name *
Name
 
 

Beauties and wonders

books, movies, music, and other wondrous things

 
 
Clive Owen, dashing to the very last

Clive Owen, dashing to the very last

CHILDREN OF MEN

Alfonso Cuarón's film (based on the book of the same name, by P.D. James) is of the most spectacular and underrated cinematic achievements of the century. One hundred years from now, people will recognize this prescient and incredibly moving film as a landmark in storytelling. Unless, of course, the story ends up being a little too prescient... then, there might not be anyone around to care ;-)

 
love this vintage cover

love this vintage cover

THE LEFT HAND OF DARKNESS

One of the most powerful pieces of literature in any genre. Science fiction stories may take place in some far-flung galaxy or distant future, but Ursula K. LeGuin proves again and again that the best scifi helps us better understand ourselves, right here, right now.

 

a masterpiece of historical fiction

THE THOUSAND AUTUMNS OF JACOB DE ZOET

David Mitchell is most famous for his stunning masterwork Cloud Atlas, which was also adapted into a reasonably enjoyable film by the Wachowski sisters (of Matrix fame). Cloud Atlas was the first I read of Mitchell's, and it blew me away. If you haven't read it yet, do yourself the favor and get your hands on a copy.

That said, The Thousand Autumns of Jacob de Zoet stands as my favorite book of his. This is historical fiction at it's finest. I loved it so much that, when I took a solo, twenty-hour drive from California to Oregon, I took the unabridged audiobook along for the ride (read beautifully by Jonathan Aris and Paula Wilcox). If you love history, adventure, and cinematic storytelling with beautiful imagery and vivid characters, read this book.